Foggy

I am surprised by the physical manifestations of the experience of my niece’s death and the emotional reaction, for lack of a better description.  I am exhausted.  Physically, emotionally, spiritually, mentally.  Simply and overwhelmingly exhausted.  I feel as if I am swimming in a fog, but a fog with a density and weight that I have never known.  Every movement feels heavy and strained.  Every word I read a difficulty, every fact impossible to grasp.  Questions in the text make no sense, and my assignments are unfathomable.  May as well have been written in a foreign language.  Oh, it’s a language I studied once and so I can decipher the meaning upon careful and intense reading and re-reading, but once the translation is done, there is the herculean task of gathering together the resources to answer the question.  Was that in the book or the lab manual?  Which chapter?  Which figure?  Everything is ten or twelve times more difficult than usual.  The math comes painfully after working the problem over and over and over.  Am I stupid?  Am I an emotional wreck?  Am I somehow unsuited for managing what looks so easy for others?

I feel ashamed of my weakness.  Embarrassed by my frailty.  I’m behind by nearly a week.  At this rate I will have to drop the course and loose $1000.  I have to catch up.  I have to clear my mind.  Compartmentalize.  Think, think, think.  But I need sleep instead.  No, that has to wait.  I am determined to catch up today.  But it’s already noon and I have spent hours doing minutes worth of work.  Sigh.

Back to it.  Maybe some coffee will help.  I think I will ask my husband to head to Starbucks for me.  I’m out of creamer and so far my attempts to make a suitable cup of coffee without it have failed miserably.

2 thoughts on “Foggy

  1. I feel sorry for your loss. Hang in there. Place your hope in God’s salvation and boundless mercy and compassion. I pray that He be merciful to you, your family, and your niece. Remember that this is a tragedy He knows all too well. This is the very reason why He became incarnate at all: To destroy death and the sin that causes it. Without Him, we are entirely hopeless. The enemy will do whatever it takes to forget this and buy into despondency.

    Also: don’t be afraid to share all hurt, confusion, and struggle with Him. He is all-compassionate, infinitely good, and boundless in mercy. HE KNOWS.

    Please take the time to read this beautiful blog entry by a pious family that went through a very rough time:

    http://allthingspraiseworthy.blogspot.com/2011/08/when-you-see-thestrals.html

    Memory eternal.

    Я.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words. The post spoke to me, as you suggested it would. That is what I am seeing. This gives me much to think on.

      Kim Bentzhttp://mountainhomecompanion.blogspot.com/http://storiesbykim.blogspot.com/ Sanity’s a one-trick pony. I mean you only get one trick. But if you’re good and crazy the sky’s the limit! – The Tick

      Like

Leave a Reply

