Gratitude

This is my Monday post. Somehow I did not hit “Publish”, so this is a day late.

1) Today I am grateful for relief.  Relief from the headache that has plagued me for the past two weeks and for a clear mind and the ability to accomplish a lot at work.  I’m told I should be thankful in sickness, in pain, and I struggle with that.  Pain has been my teacher, and for that, for the lessons, I am grateful.  Often, God has been my comfort in the pain, and for that I am grateful.  The pain itself?  Is it stubbornness, selfishness, disobedience that makes me ungrateful for the illness–for the pain itself?  I don’t know.

2) I’m grateful for answers, but I’m grateful for questions as well, for I find myself and I find God in the questions at least as much as in the answers.

3) I’m grateful for the struggle, as uncomfortable as it is.  The struggle lets me know that there is value in the striving in a way I can’t find the words to express.

4) I am also grateful that although I live in one of the wealthiest areas in the country with some of the highest average income of anywhere in the country, and my own income is waaaaaaay down toward the bottom of the scale, I have a nice place to live, with adequate winter heat and summer cooling, and I am not suffering financially. I cannot do what many do, or go where many go, nor spend what others spend, but I have enough to help when I see a need. And I am grateful that God has taught me to live on less so that I have the absolute LUXURY of giving.

Leave a Reply

