Thanking God

I am thanking God that my brother-in-law survived his emergency surgery and kept his legs. I am thanking God that he can walk with the walker they gave him at the hospital. I am thanking God that we can shelter him for a time and that God provided a bed for him to sleep on.

I am thankful for surgeons who work on Sundays, for nurses who work the dark hours, and for good news in the waiting room.

I am thankful that he is here for a time.

I was angry and disappointed that my plans were changed, rearranged, upended, and now I am ashamed of that. Because my plans were swept aside, he was in at a hospital with surgeons who could save his leg, not just remove it. He may have a walker, but he can walk. He may have no money, but he has a roof over his head and food on the table. Thanks to God.

Leave a Reply

