O My Soul

An email subject line reads: “Inside a Young Couple’s Effortlessly Elegant Home!” (Exclamation points may be mine.) I can almost hear the chipper voice of a female TV announcer, shining blond locks artfully arranged to appear as if she wakes up looking like this. Effortless! Elegant! Young! Blech, blech, blech.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a good home design/home decorating piece and I believe a warm and inviting home is a place of rest and respite for your family, of encouragement and peace and service to friends and neighbors, and is a good goal. But right now? I want a heart that is decorated well, a place of peace and respite for weary souls. I need a heart that is encouraged by and encourages others. I need peace and respite, and for my heart to be decorated not with material possessions and the latest designs in home lighting, but with the light and beauty of Christ and with love and reverence for his church and her people.

I want my heart to be filled with Scripture, with the lives of the Saints, that the decor would be life-giving.

There is nothing wrong with burlap wrapped framed mirrors, or with rescuing old furniture and transforming it with love, paint and ingenuity, nothing wrong with glistening tables and bold, beautiful lighting, but I need to be wrapped in the arms of love, I am that old thing in need of rescue and transformation. A little bit of paint and glaze ain’t gonna do it, my friends. The bold and beautiful needs to be my soul, the glistening should be my face shining with love for those around me.

I need a Holy Spirit cleansing, a new life breathed into these old walls, that my heart would thrum with the song, Bless the Lord, O my soul. O Lord my God you are great indeed! Holy God! Holy Mighty One, Holy Immortal One, have mercy on me according to thy great mercies.

Big stuff going on this week.  Big and heavy and frightening, but God… Well, that’s it, isn’t it?  But God.  I can say anything else, preface with any story, any heaviness, any sorrow, but at the end, when I get to the part that goes, “but God…” I have turned the corner.  I have walked from fear to peace, from sorrow to joy, from darkness to light.  Oh gleam in my heart, O God.  Light all the dark corners, and wipe away all the tears.  Paint your love on my heart, O God, that I may be a testimony to your goodness and faithfulness all the days of my life.

“Bless the Lord, O my soul.  Forget not all his benefits, who forgives all your iniquities and heals all your diseases.”

 

Leave a Reply

