A Gushing Book Review: Laurus by Eugene Vodolazkin

I am in the midst of reading a book that I recommend.  Goodness, it is odd, charming, intriguing, compelling, and I get lost in it.  It is NOT an Orthodox book, but in many ways it says so much about the orthodox life, the thoughts, the Holy Fools, the dealings with things we don’t understand, things that are mysteries, and simple lives.  I should probably say they are not simple in that the lives are easy, but that they are often defined by doing the thing that is in front of us, it is in making a choice that leads to another choice and another, but not in a grandiose way.  Oh, I’m so not describing this book well.  Only know that this will challenge you while it charms you and breaks your heart.  The publisher says it is the tale of a 15th century Russian monk, but it is so much more.  This person changes names and directions in ways that are mysterious and yet ring so true. Don’t read this if you don’t want to be moved and challenged.

Full disclosure:  if you purchase through this link, I get paid.  That’s not the reason for me writing about it, the reason I’m promoting the book is because I fell in love with it.

Leave a Reply

